Kyiv National Economic University named after Vadym Hetman

Procedure of Legalization and Apostille of Educational Documents

Department for foreign citizens provides centralized execution of documents for legalization and apostille, or foreign citizens may perform this procedure themselves after receiving an invitation letter from the university.

Documents legalization or apostille is a process to verify documents authenticity. Either apostille or legalization confirms only the authenticity of the signature of the person issuing the document. Eeither apostille or legalization does not confirm the document`s content, does not mean that the state somehow approves or opposes the information contained in the documentation.

The documents are apostilled in accordance with the Hague convention dated from the 5th of October, 1961, that came into force on the territory of Ukraine starting from the 22nd of December, 2003 and is needed for the following countries: Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua, Argentina, Armenia, Barbados, Barbuda, Belize, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Darussalam, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Vanuatu, Hungary, Venezuela, Germany, Honduras, Grenada, Greece, Georgia, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Israel, India, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Cape Verde, Kazakhstan, Cyprus, Peoples Republic of China, Colombia, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Namibia, the Netherlands, Niue, New Zealand, Norway, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, Cook Islands, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Russia, Romania, El Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Swaziland, Seychelles, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint­ Lucia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Suriname, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, Fiji, Finland, France, Croatia, Montenegro, Switzerland, Sweden, Ecuador, Estonia, South Africa, Japan.

If you are preparing documents for a country that is not a member of the Hague Convention and it is not on the list of signatory countries, you need to submit your documents for consular legalization.

Legalization and apostille are not required, if an international treaty provides the abolition or simplification of these procedures and apostille should be placed on documents on the EU territory Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine has a right to apply apostille stamp to documents Ukraine and Ministry of Foreign Affairs has a right to legalize documents.

Last redaction: 25.01.16